How to Delete Your Twitter Account

How to Delete Your Twitter Account

How to delete your Twitter account
You can permanently delete your account, erasing all your tweets, followers, favorites, and other data. Click Deactivate to confirm you'd like to deactivate your account. Deactivating your account permanently deletes it from Twitter. Can I still delete my account? Twitter doesn't immediately delete your account when you Deactivate it. If you ever want to reactivate your account simply log in at any time within the day period.

Sell Your Old iPhone For Cash!


Did this summary help you? This will open your Twitter home page if you're logged into your Twitter account. If you aren't logged into your account, click Log In in the top-right corner of the window, then enter your email address or username and password into the labeled text fields. This option is in the upper-right corner of the page. A drop-down menu will appear.

Click Settings and privacy. It's near the middle of the drop-down menu. Scroll all the way down and click Deactivate my account. It's at the very bottom of the page. If you don't see this link at the bottom of the page, you haven't scrolled far enough down. This blue button will appear in the middle of the page after a few seconds.

When prompted, type the password that you use to log into Twitter into the "Password" text field. It's a blue button in the bottom-right corner of the window. Clicking this deactivates your account, though you can log back into your account any time in the next 30 days to restore it. Twitter will hold onto your account information for 30 days after deactivation, after which point your account will be gone with no chance of recovery.

Write to Twitter support and ask them to delete the account for you. They'll ask you some questions to ascertain that you are really the account owner, and once they're satisfied, they'll either reset your password for you, or delete the account as you've asked them to.

Not Helpful 45 Helpful Go to Twitter on your PC, then click on your profile picture at the top of the screen next to the search bar. In the dropdown, click on Settings. On the left side of the page, you will see a list of options. From here, you can revoke an app's access to your Twitter account. Not Helpful 9 Helpful You can temporarily deactivate for a month following the steps above.

Twitter doesn't allow more than a month. Not Helpful 1 Helpful 5. Can someone get into an inactive Twitter account without the password? No, it isn't possible. The only way would be to contact support if it is an old account of yours, and you'd have to provide proof. Not Helpful 4 Helpful I don't have the Twitter application installed. Can I still delete my account? Yes, either go on the computer and delete your account by logging in with your browser, or use your phone's browser to log in and deactivate your account that way.

Not Helpful 32 Helpful Can I delete my Twitter account if I currently do not have access to the internet? No, you must have access to the internet, unless you have the Twitter offline app. But then your actions might only be temporary. Not Helpful 11 Helpful Will I lose saved Twitter pictures if I deactivate or delete my account?

It depends on where the files are saved. Twitter doesn't immediately delete your account when you Deactivate it. The site holds your data for a period of 30 days while it begins to remove your data from its systems. The day period also acts as a grace period of sorts — you're given a chance to reactivate your account if you'd rather not get rid of it.

If you ever want to reactivate your account simply log in at any time within the day period. If you're deleting your account for the purpose of purging your tweets from a search engine, it may not work.

Search engines index information and don't necessarily "check back in" to see if an account has been deleted. You can find more information about deactivating — and reactivating — your Twitter account on Twitter's support website.

Skip to main content. What's my iPhone worth? Forums Shop Toggle Search. Deleting your Twitter account If you want to delete your Twitter account you'll have to visit Twitter on the web. Sign in to Twitter's website on the web.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Deactivation puts your Twitter account in a queue for permanent deletion. Read this article for more information about how to delete you Twitter account, including how-to instructions. Open menu. Help Center. Help topics. Using Twitter How to deactivate your account;. If you no longer want your Twitter account, you can deactivate it. Twitter will remove your profile, messages and tweets from its website immediately. Your data will still be. Feb 25,  · How To Delete Your Twitter Account The Reasons You Might Decide to Delete Your Twitter. In many ways, social media has changed the way that we interact with each other as a species, and perhaps none more so than Twitter/5(4).