How to Quickly Delete Your Gmail Account Permanently

Delete Gmail

How do I delete an e-mail account or address?
Click "Remove Gmail" to confirm. How can I accomplish this? To delete the entire Google account and all services associated with it, click "Close account and delete all services and info associated with it" instead of "Remove Gmail permanently. Open the Password Manager and remove the others data. Please ask a new question if you need help. Click the Inbox folder on the left side of the page to do so.

Outlook.com (formerly Hotmail)

Support Forum

If you use the Gmail Offline app, you will also need to clear your browser's cache and cookies. If you change your mind, you may be able to get your Gmail address back.

Learn how to delete your Google Account. This action will delete your entire Google account, not just your Gmail service. You need to sign in before you can delete your Gmail service.

Get help accessing your account. To get the latest tips, tricks, and how-to's, subscribe to our YouTube Channel. Help Center Google Account. Privacy Policy Terms of Service. Delete your Gmail service If you don't want your Gmail address and emails anymore, you can remove them from your Google Account. What happens when you delete your Gmail service Your emails and mail settings will be deleted. If you already have a current backup of your data, you can skip this step.

Begin by logging into your account. Next, click the Download your data link. The Google Download your data screen displays: You'll see various Google products listed with a box to the right of each of them. Use the scrollbar to scroll down to the products you want to back up. Since we are deleting Gmail, I recommend downloading data from Contacts and, of course, Mail. By default, download is turned on for all products.

You'll see a green check mark. To deactivate those downloads you don't need, click in the white space next to the green check mark. You'll see a gray X. The screen should look like this:. Click the Next button when you have selected the product data you wish to download. The Customize archive format screen appears:. Use the down arrow in the box beneath each option to bring up a drop-down menu and make your choices: When you've made your choices, click the Create archive button.

For this option, I opt to receive the download in my Gmail inbox. The following screen displays:. When you're ready, click the Manage archives button. The following confirmation screen displays:. Click the Done button. Google takes you to a privacy settings screen. If you like, you can adjust your privacy settings now. Since I chose to receive the download through email, I open my Gmail inbox. A message displays with a link to my downloaded information:.

If you chose one of the other options for downloading your data, you will find your data where you sent it. Click the Download archive button. You will be prompted to log in to your Gmail account.

The Download your data: Notice the prompt asking what you want to do with the data you've downloaded. Using the browser window, I find the folder where I want to save the data. I click the Save button on my browser window and the data is saved to my computer. The file is now stored on my computer. A prompt opens at the button of the screen asking whether I want to Open the download , Open folder , or View downloads. If I want to check on my data, I can select one of these options.

At this point, your data has been backed up. You are ready to move on to the next step of deleting your Gmail account. Many online accounts use your email account as recovery information and to communicate with you. If you have accounts that are linked to this Gmail address that you are about to delete, you may lose access to those accounts if you ever need to reset your password.

Also, you may miss out on important communications from those accounts. Before deleting your Gmail address, check to see that none of your accounts are linked to Gmail. Start with the following important accounts and be sure to consider all your online accounts. Once you've identified a list of online accounts linked to your Gmail address, change your profile information for each linked account to link to your new email address instead of your soon to be deleted Gmail address.

Another important consideration is that clients and other contacts may not be able to reach you if you delete your Gmail address. To solve this problem, you will need to notify your contacts of your new email address. Once you've backed up your Gmail data, changed your profile information for your online accounts, and notified your contacts you are finally ready to permanently remove your Gmail address.

This process goes quickly:. To delete your Gmail account, you need to access the Google Account preferences screen. Click the Account Preferences link. Use the scrollbar on the right of the screen to scroll down to the Delete your account or services heading. The screen now looks like this:. Check the Gmail address on the screen carefully to make sure it is the one you want to delete. When you are satisfied that it's correct, type your password and click the Sign in button.

The Delete a Google service screen appears:. That you are given another chance to download your data before you delete your Gmail account. If you have more than one Google service, they will be listed on this screen.

Scroll down to Gmail. To delete your Gmail account, click the trash icon to the right. You'll be prompted to provide an email address so that you can use other Google services such as Google Drive and Calendar: Type the email address you will use from now on to access Google service into the space.

Click the Send Verification Email button on the lower right. You cannot use an email address that is already associated with another Google account. After you've typed the new email that you will use to check your Google account, instructions appear on the screen:. Click the Got It button in the lower right corner.

Even though you've already selected the trash icon next to Gmail, you must confirm the Gmail account deletion. Click in the checkbox to confirm that you really want to delete this Gmail address. Then, click the Delete Gmail button. Click the Done button and close the Account preferences screen. After your Gmail address is deleted, you can no longer send messages to it. Here is an example of how a message sent to your deleted Gmail account will bounce back to the sender:.

After your Gmail account has been deleted, there may be a short period during which you can recover your account. However, you shouldn't count on being able to recover your account.

Help removing someone else's profile from my gmail log-in window.

Leave a Reply

If you don't want your Gmail address and emails anymore, you can remove them from your Google Account. Deleting them won't delete your entire Google Account. What happens when you delete your Gmail service. Your emails and mail settings will be deleted. You can no longer use your Gmail address to send or receive email. You can also choose Delete Google Account and Data to remove your entire Google account (including your search history, Google Docs, AdWords and AdSense as well as other Google services). Select the Gmail account you want to delete. Your Gmail account can feel like an extension of you, and there’s a good chance you’ve had the same one for as far back as you can remember. So deciding to delete your Gmail account is a potentially big commitment.